Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur

August Sander: Confectioner, 1928
© Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur – August Sander Archiv, Köln; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2014

With its collection, the scholarly maintenance of its holdings, its research projects, and its exhibitions, all of which center around objective, documentary photography, Die Photographische Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur contributes to a wide range of regional, national, and international artistic and cultural offerings. We appeal to visitors from all spheres of general interest and experts in equal measure.

Bernd & Hilla Becher: Koper tower, Mine Hannover 1/2/5, Bochum-Hordel, Ruhrgebiet, D, 1973 © Hilla Becher

The institution’s collection comprises more than 30,000 works by historical and contemporary photographers of various nationalities. A significant share of these—more than 10,500 negatives and 5,500 original prints—is part of the August Sander Archive, followed by negatives and prints from important series by the artist couple Bernd and Hilla Becher. These two photographic stances, are since 1992 and 1996, in terms of style and content decisive for the further development of the collection. The longterm loan of original Karl Blossfeldt prints from the Berlin University of the Arts augments the focus on objective photograph. The collection of the German Photographic Association, which was assembled from the fifties to the eighties was additionally purchased by Die Photographische Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur in 1993. In July 2014, the GAG Immobilien AG (Cologne local real estate company) transferred its holdings of the architectural photographers Werner Mantz and Hugo Schmölz to the Photographische Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur. They document in particular the emergence of the GAG settlements in the 1920s and 1930s.

August Sander: Circus Artistes, 1926–1932
© Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur – August Sander Archiv, Köln; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2014

Die Photographische Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur maintains a close collaboration with numerous artists, such as Hilla Becher, particularly on specific groups of work in her archive that she compiled together with her husband Bernd Becher, who died in 2007. Jim Dine also maintains a special tie with the institution, having entrusted his photographic oeuvre to the collection since 2004. It furthermore includes extensive bodies of work by Boris Becker, Joachim Brohm, William Christenberry, Paul Dobe, Ruth Hallensleben, Gabriele and Helmut Nothhelfer, Albert Renger- Patzsch, Wilhelm Schürmann, and Stephen Shore. The collection is being continuously expanded, in many cases by permanent loans and generous gifts.

There are two to three exhibitions a year, most of them accomponied by publications compiled at Die Photographische Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur. Presentations are organized that are assembled from the institution’s own collection as well as displays of works that enter into a dialogue with it. The exchange with regional, national, and international institutions plays an important role, as evidenced by numerous collaborative exhibition projects and a lively circulation of loans.

 

Patricia Edgar

Patricia Edgar
Management assistant, Administration

photographie( at )sk-kultur.de

Tel.: +49 221 88895300
Fax: +49 221 88895301

Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur

August Sander: Konditor, 1928
© Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur – August Sander Archiv, Köln; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2014

Die sachlich-dokumentarische Photographie als künstlerisches Ausdrucksmittel steht im Zentrum der Aktivitäten der Photographischen Sammlung / SK Stiftung Kultur. Diese umfassen die konservatorische und wissenschaftliche Betreuung der Sammlungsbestände sowie die Durchführung sich daran anschließender Forschungsprojekte. Einen weiteren Arbeitsschwerpunkt bildet die Konzeption und Realisation von Ausstellungen, die einen Beitrag zum regionalen, nationalen und internationalen Kunst- und Kulturangebot darstellen.

Bernd & Hilla Becher: Förderturm, Zeche Hannover 1/2/5, Bochum-Hordel, Ruhrgebiet, D, 1973 © Hilla Becher

Zur Sammlung gehören über 30.000 Werke von historischen und zeitgenössischen Photographen unterschiedlicher Nationalität. An erster Stelle steht das August Sander Archiv mit über 10.500 Negativen und 5.500 Originalabzügen des Photographen sowie wesentliche Werkgruppen aus dem Schaffen des Künstlerpaars Bernd und Hilla Becher, die Negative und Abzüge umfassen. Beide Positionen sind stilistisch und inhaltlich maßgebend für die weitere Entwicklung der Sammlung. Insbesondere eine langfristige Leihgabe mit Originalabzügen von Karl Blossfeldt aus der Universität der Künste Berlin erweitert den Schwerpunkt sachlicher Photographie. Eine umfangreiche Ergänzung bildet darüber hinaus die Sammlung der Deutschen Gesellschaft für Photographie, die zwischen den 1950er- und 1980er- Jahren angelegt und 1993 angekauft wurde. Im Juli 2014 hat die GAG Immobilien AG ihre Bestände der Architekturphotographen Werner Mantz und Hugo Schmölz an die Photographische Sammlung übergeben. Sie dokumentieren vor allem die Entstehung der GAG-Siedlungen in den 1920er und 1930er Jahren.

August Sander: Zirkusartisten, 1926–1932
© Die Photographische Sammlung/SK Stiftung Kultur – August Sander Archiv, Köln; VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn, 2014

Mit vielen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern besteht eine engere Zusammenarbeit, so mit Hilla Becher hinsichtlich der Aufarbeitung bestimmter Werkkonvolute aus ihrem Archiv, das sie gemeinsam mit Bernd Becher, der 2007 verstarb, erarbeitet hat. Mit der Institution besonders verbunden ist zudem Jim Dine, der seit 2004 sein photographisches Schaffen der Sammlung anvertraut. Umfassende Werkkonvolute von Boris Becker, Joachim Brohm, William Christenberry, Paul Dobe, Ruth Hallensleben, Gabriele und Helmut Nothhelfer, Albert Renger- Patzsch, Wilhelm Schürmann und Stephen Shore werden darüber hinaus betreut. Die Sammlung wird kontinuierlich erweitert, dies geschieht auch durch Dauerleihgaben und Schenkungen.

Die Ausstellungen im Haus wechseln zwei- bis dreimal im Jahr. Gezeigt werden Präsentationen, die aus dem hauseigenen Bestand zusammengestellt werden, aber auch solche, die damit in Dialog stehen. Viele werden von eigenen Publikationen begleitet und gehen im Anschluss mit weiteren Stationen im In- und Ausland auf Tour.

Patricia Edgar

Patricia Edgar
Assistenz und Verwaltung

photographie( at )sk-kultur.de

Tel.: +49 221 88895300
Fax: +49 221 88895301